My Transition into Rock ‘n’ Roll…

10 Jun

On first glance you can probably tell what type of music my Ipod is filled with.

With my heavily lined eyes, black biker boots and blaring headphones, I am stereotypically what can be defined as ‘a bit of a rock chick.’

Thing’s weren’t always this way. In my teen years I was more likely to be dancing around to Britney or the latest Tiesto dance anthem. I was always curious about my father’s taste in music. I was practically brought up with Pink Floyd and ‘Light my Fire’ was played constantly while I was still in the womb.

Kate Moss is at the centre of 'Rock Chic.'

I can’t help but be proud of my great taste in music today. At 20 years old, an eyebrow is often raised when I begin discussing my love of The Doors, The Stones and Hendrix. “My god you don’t half listen to old music! That’s unusual for a girl at your age!”

However I can already see that they are impressed by my fabulous selection of music. Each time I hog the jukebox in the basement of some bar at some point a grey-haired male will stumble up to me “You’ve got a great taste in music girl! Where did ya get that from? I want to see your CD collection!” Sorry grandpa but CD’s are long gone, it’s all MP3 format nowadays (Just kidding).

I’m not trying to be cool or ‘different.’ There are loads of people at my age that love the same type of music that I do. However I cannot help but wonder how on earth this happened. One minute I was raving it out at the local dance night and the next I’m bouncing around like a crazed lunatic at the latest tribute gig – a bonus? Tickets are usually cheap as chips. Perhaps I just suddenly grew up but all I can remember was two words that made me lose all interest in my beloved dance music. Jim Morrison.

It is almost obvious why I could fall in love with the legendary Doors (note – legendary). One of the most iconic figures of rock ever to be known, Jim Morrison was passionate, poetic, rebellious and sexy-as-hell. The lyrics are meaningful, the melodies catchy and the voice – beautiful.

At 18 years old I fell in love with the Doors, and never fell out. It all started with a few downloads of their most memorable tracks – ‘Break on Through’, ‘Light my Fire’ and ‘People are Strange. ‘ Today I have every album, several books and an astonishing knowledge of the band. Drunken conversation’s with fellow rock lovers usual begin with “So whaddya think of the Doors?” I must admit it is often an incredible conversation starter that often ends in conspiracy discussions, juke box take-overs and washed down with several Jack Daniels (aka the Whiskey Bar song).

It wasn’t this sudden of course that my obsession for gigs and rock music began. I started off with a few commercial tracks on my MP3 player. The Kooks ‘Naive,’ Muse’s ‘Starlight’ and Pink Floyd’s ‘We don’t need no education.’ A favourite of mine to this day.

Then the Doors were it for me. In a flash I was sporting a leather jacket, heaps of eyeliner and had developed a taste for Jack Daniels and poetry. My boyfriend seemed to change with me (He’s now the guitarist in a band) and now we’re mainly spotted together at the latest gig or chilling out in Firewater, the local rock bar.

Perhaps it’s the comeback that these iconic bands have made. Look at the Beatles, one Beatles Rockband game = a billion youthful fans. There is no doubt that times are changing and a love of rock music is seen as being cool. Fashion has changed also, with leather making a massive comeback and celebrities such as Kate Moss, Alexa Chung and Taylor Momsen rocking out the traditional, punky look.

Let’s face it, Rock and Roll has always been alluring. It screams free will, endless parties and access to plenty of hot musicians. It will never be the end for rock music and the transition will continue. Perhaps one day it’ll be our kids who will be rushing out the door in their leather mini’s to go see the latest Libertine’s tribute band. And god help us then.

The contraversial American rock Icon Jim Morrison.

Leave a Reply

